Sorrel and Mauby- a taste for all occasions

Sorrel and Mauby- a taste for all occasions

There is an abiding love by Guyanese around the world for some of the delicious home brewed drinks of Guyana that verges on worship. This unwavering memory of the taste of home can instantly transport you back to that nostalgic and happy place of family and cultural identification. Guyanese foods and drinks are always on the minds of the diaspora regardless of their vast distances of travel and adaptation to other foods and cultural experiences of the world.

Mouthwatering fruits juices and drinks in Guyana comes from the multitude of amazing tropical fruits of Guyana- homemade juices and drinks inexpensively prepared and served in households to satisfy everyday needs. Pineapple drinks made from both chunks of pineapple or peel, five -finger {star fruit}  cashew, paw- paw, orange juice or drink, lemonade or swank, mango juice or drink, coconut water, ginger-beer, guava, sorrel and mauby are some of the more common delicious homemade drinks that are thought of when Guyanese excitedly seek out Caribbean stores to enjoy something uniquely special. Sorrel and Mauby are probably two of the most commonly sought after drinks. Dried sorrel or sorrel syrup, mauby bark or extract, both offers a gratifying taste of tradition to the longing palate of Guyanese.  Read more  [Sorrel and Mauby- A taste for all occasions]

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • de castro compton  On September 29, 2013 at 7:52 am

    Dimitri
    Your subtle reminder our cultural heritage is history rewritten….
    Congratulations my brother….I can taste both the above drinks
    although I am thousands of miles away…..nostalgia a la carte !

    I travel 20 miles to Sheppard’s bush London to eat Dhalpuree and curry
    and collect a few “skin” Trinidadian name for dhalpuree ….to take away…
    to share with my non Guyanese friends…..
    The take away is owned by a Trini whose wife is Guyanese
    …his customers come from every part of the globe to enjoy
    the freshly made Roti/curry wrap….he makes enough for a day
    but is usually sold out before 10pm…12 hour day slavery but
    told me he does not wish to expand/franchise his business
    and closes shop and has an extended break for a few weeks
    in Triniland wid he woman…..happy man !
    Make his money in summer then migrate for winter months….
    Best of both worlds…..
    I ate some of the best soup in my short stay in GT last XMAS
    at German restaurant in town….
    Food and drink is part of a culture no time can erase….

    Write on my brother …..you are Guyana s true historian….

    More more….addict of respect/love among others that are TAXABLE

    KAMPTAN

  • deokie  On September 29, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    Another fantastic “Guyanese Thing” from a Guyanese “down to the bone” – excellent article – if only they knew what is the real gold! And you make it sound like 21 carat! Thanks for sharing your mauby and sorrel. I made fresh fruit punch for my sons a few weeks back and had the golden opportunity of trying “Gramadilla” (the local name) in the blend! Oh Boy! – they were like — my gosh mom where did you find this fruit! It was really delicious! Well first time I tried it myself. Tropical fruits are very wholesome – the natural stuff – wish we can keep it that way.

  • Dmitri Allicock  On September 29, 2013 at 3:44 pm

    Thanks guys, as I wrote this I was drinking a cold glass of Mauby from the concentrate. I went back and almost finished the pitcher- it was soooo good as I thought about Mauby yesterday. My next mission is to get some sorrel. All the best.

  • Indra  On September 29, 2013 at 4:25 pm

    My friend, Dmitri… I will now a follower.

    Your articles have brought so many memories of me growing in Guyana.

    Sorrel & Mauby along with Ginger beer were a must at Christmas, Easter, Phagwah & Diwali celebrations in our home…

  • gigi  On September 29, 2013 at 10:41 pm

    Both drinks are my favorite and I am able to get them in the concentrate form and packet mix, but I don’t make them often. They taste almost as good as back home and I want to preserve those ‘back home’ memories and not have them get lost to daily consumption. I also miss cane juice. The other day I found lemon grass to make home made tea. Couldn’t find sweetbroom and all the other good bush teas. Can’t remember all the names either.

    Thanks for another trip down memory lane, Mr Allicock

  • Dmitri Allicock  On September 29, 2013 at 11:39 pm

    Thanks guys!

  • Deen  On October 1, 2013 at 5:02 pm

    Aaah! Refreshing!
    Dmitri, I used to enjoy all three of these drinks, mauby, ginger beer and sorrel.I loved mauby the best. If only I had known it was supposedly an aphrodisiac, I would have treated my girlfriends with a lot more, Haha!
    Thanks for sharing this.
    If I may suggest another related topic, what about an article about popular Guyanese soft drinks of yesteryear: Vimto, Icee, Sugar water, Lemonade, etc.
    Take care

  • Dmitri Allicock  On October 4, 2013 at 7:02 pm

    Thanks guys. I totally forgot about Vimto Deen. I have been drinking Mauby and Sorrel almost daily since the article..{ smile

  • Dmitri Allicock  On October 4, 2013 at 7:02 pm

    When I was a child in the 1960s most fruits cost one cent or a penny. There was a song of the time that said, “Mango ripe! Mango sweet! I want a penny to buy,” (repeat). That was very true of the times as most of us can remember. Sucking a juicy spice mango that ran down your elbow was a trade mark of the school children at Wismar or Mackenzie market place. A coconut base Salara, Bun or Biscuit and a very large cup of delicious Mauby to wash it down was five cents. Read more: http://guyaneseonline.wordpress.com/2012/06/01/guyana-a-paradise-for-fruits/

Leave a Reply

