Innocence of Ground Zero – by Dmitri Allicock

Ground Zero

Innocence of Ground Zero

By Dmitri Allicock

It seems only like yesterday but 13 years to date

Almost 3000 heroes indiscriminately killed by hate

Devils of terror armed with the Koran and robe

Attacking freedom with savagery around the globe

Striking within the soft heart of civilization so near

Attempting to spread their medieval dogma of fear

4 airliners hijacked, Twin Towers collapsing in a cloud

The Pentagon burning, Flight 93 that made us so proud

Painful blows by genocidal barbarians of ancient times

Lacking any moral cause for such horrific crimes

We honor 25 cherished Guyanese and American Heroes

Today we remember the innocence of Ground Zero

—-

9-11 Remembered – Prayer of the Children

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • belladeclou9bella  On September 19, 2015 at 1:38 pm

    Thanks Dmitri,
    A beautiful poem, but sad, I remember that ill fated day, I was watching Cnn when suddenly I saw this plane hit the first tower.
    I was in shocked, when I saw the second one hit the second bulding, I saw people jumping to their deaths, people runing helter skelter in the streets, then came the third plane, I was
    Screaming my tears was running down my cheeks, I never
    Believe for one moment I would be witnessing such tragedy.
    It leaves a scar on my heart. Each morning I wake up I thank god for watching over me. I pray for those that lost their lives,
    R.I.P..
    And for all the families that loss love ones, May God Bless you all.
    Bella

Leave a Reply

